The President's Institute features renowned sustainability experts.

Keynote Speaker

Henry McGhie

Founder, Curating Tomorrow

Henry McGhie has a background as an ecologist, museum curator, and manager. He set up Curating Tomorrow in 2019, as a consultancy to help empower museums and similar institutions, and the people who make use of them, to strengthen their contributions to sustainable development agendas. These include the UN Sustainable Development Goals, climate action, human rights, disaster risk reduction, and biodiversity conservation. McGhie works internationally with museums, museum and heritage organizations, and as a consultant on the International Centre for the Study of the Preservation and Restoration of Cultural Property (ICCROM) Our Collections Matter program. He writes a series of open-access guides on sustainable-development topics that are widely used internationally. He is a Churchill Fellow, is a member of the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) Commission on Education and Communication, and was a member of the International Council of Museums (ICOM) Sustainability Working Group in 2018–2023.

Panel: Sustainable Libraries—Advice from the Field

Morgan Barker

Sustainability Librarian, Cal Poly Humboldt

Morgan Barker (she/her/hers) is the sustainability librarian at Cal Poly Humboldt in Arcata, California, and a faculty member in the Business, Agriculture, and Career Technical Department at Shasta College in Redding, California. She holds a BA in recreation administration, an MBA, and an MLIS. Barker’s professional adventure began in outdoor education and retail, where she honed her passion for sustainability and the environment. As her career evolved, she transitioned into design and international manufacturing, gaining valuable insights into global sustainability practices. In 2011, she ventured into higher education, bringing her expertise to teaching and consulting within academic spaces. With over a decade of experience in higher education, including a role as an instructional designer, Barker is now the first-ever sustainability librarian at Cal Poly Humboldt, where she serves the campus in advancing the university's environmental sustainability research and curriculum. 

Leo Lo

President-Elect, Association of Research & College Libraries (ACRL)
Dean and Professor, College of University Libraries and Learning Sciences, The University of New Mexico

Leo Lo is the dean and professor of the College of University Libraries and Learning Sciences at The University of New Mexico and the current president-elect of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL). His work focuses on integrating AI into library services and advancing AI literacy. Lo’s academic background includes a doctorate degree in higher education management from the University of Pennsylvania, an MLIS degree from Florida State University, as well as master’s degrees in screenwriting and survey research.

Bart Murphy

Chief Technology and Information Officer, OCLC

Panel Moderator

Bart Murphy joined OCLC as chief technology and information officer in December 2018. He leads OCLC’s Global Technology team and oversees engineering centers around the world. Murphy’s technology experience spans a diverse set of organizations and industries. Before joining OCLC, he was the chief technology officer of PriorAuthNow, a technology organization that enables streamlining of healthcare access through prior authorization automation. Before that, he was the chief information and technology officer at York Risk Services Group, after holding the same position for CareWorks Family of Companies prior to acquisition. In addition, he served as president of CareWorks Tech, a technology consulting company. Murphy’s technology expertise is in software development, infrastructure, data management, security, portfolio, and agile management. His technology leadership earned him a spot among IDG’s Computerworld Premier 100 IT Leaders, which recognizes exceptional technology leadership and innovative approaches to business challenges. He serves on the board of the Central Ohio Agile Association (COHAA), where he is currently treasurer. Murphy earned a bachelor’s degree in biomedical engineering, with a minor in math, from the University of Pennsylvania.

Sibyl Schaefer headshot.

Sibyl Schaefer

Chronopolis Program Manager and Digital Preservation Librarian, UC San Diego

Sibyl Schaefer established and leads the National Digital Stewardship Alliance (NDSA) Climate Watch Working Group which tracks climate science and related media reports to assess impacts on digital preservation activities. She has published and presented extensively on digital preservation practice and infrastructure as well as digital archives workflow, description and management, and open-source software. She serves as the Chronopolis Program Manager and Digital Preservation Librarian at the University of California, San Diego. She previously served as the Head of Digital Programs for the Rockefeller Archive Center where she worked to fully integrate digital and traditional archival practices, including policy development, forensic and accessioning workflows, and training initiatives to support the long-term stewardship of digitized and born digital materials. She has been recognized as an Emerging Leader by the American Library Association and the Archival Leadership Institute. Schaefer holds an MLIS with a specialization in Archival Studies from UCLA.


Sarah Tribelhorn

Sciences Librarian, San Diego State University

Sarah Tribelhorn, MS, MMLIS, is the sciences librarian at San Diego State University. She has been instrumental in leading sustainability initiatives in the University Library, including the formation of a library Sustainability Committee and the library’s participation in the Sustainable Libraries Initiative Certification Program (SLCP) for academic libraries to benchmark sustainability within the library. Other initiatives have included mapping the work being carried out in the University Library to each of the 17 United Nations (UN) Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), and increased campus and community engagement in sustainability projects.